Saltar al contenido

Guía del examen · A1–B2

TCF · Test de connaissance du français (TCF IRN)

A placement test by France Éducation international: no pass/fail, your result is a level. The TCF IRN version is made for residence cards and nationality.

France Éducation international

Guía del examen: A1–B2

Web oficial
Cómo reservarCentro de examenNo waiting time is published; it depends on the centre. Places can be limited — book early.
Partes del examen4· 95 minCompréhension orale · Compréhension écrite · Expression écrite · Expression orale
Lugares3Bordeaux · Strasbourg · Toulouse

TCF (A1–B2, France Éducation international) tiene 4 partes: Compréhension orale, Compréhension écrite, Expression écrite, Expression orale. Precio: Set by the centre. Resultado: Depends on the centre: 15 working days (Bordeaux Montaigne), 2–3 weeks (AF Strasbourg), 4–5 weeks (AF Toulouse). Comprobado 2026-09-29.

Fechas, lugares y tiempos de espera

No national TCF dates: each TCF centre sets its own sessions. Example: Alliance Française Toulouse, Fridays 13:45–17:00. fuente

  1. 1Libroen un centro de examen autorizado en Francia
  2. 2ExamenNo national TCF dates: each TCF centre sets its own sessions
  3. 3ResultadoDepends on the centre: 15 working days (Bordeaux Montaigne), 2–3 weeks (AF Strasbourg), 4–5 weeks (AF Toulouse)
  4. 4Certificado2 years for French residence and nationality procedures.

Dónde

BordeauxStrasbourgToulouse

Examples of TCF IRN centres checked: Université Bordeaux Montaigne, Alliance Française Strasbourg, Alliance Française Toulouse. Other centres across France. fuente

Espera y resultados

No waiting time is published; it depends on the centre. Places can be limited — book early. fuente

Depends on the centre: 15 working days (Bordeaux Montaigne), 2–3 weeks (AF Strasbourg), 4–5 weeks (AF Toulouse). fuente

Coste y repeticiones

Set by the centre. Examples: €150 (Université Bordeaux Montaigne); from €130 + €50 registration fee (Alliance Française Toulouse). fuente

You can retake; example AF Strasbourg: at least 20 days between two attempts. Pay the fee again. fuente

De un vistazo

WhoPeople who need A2 (multi-year card), B1 (resident card) or B2 (nationality).[1]
PartesListening 25 q (20 min), reading 25 q (35 min), writing 3 tasks (30 min), speaking 3 tasks (10 min)[2]
DuraciónAbout 1 h 35[1]
ResultadoA level from A1 to B2 (TCF IRN); no pass mark[3]
Validity for France2 years for residence cards; for nationality issued less than 2 years ago[4]
PriceSet by the centre, e.g. €150 (Université Bordeaux Montaigne) or from €130 + €50 registration (Alliance Française Toulouse)[1]
FormatoOn computer at the centre (reading/listening/writing) + face-to-face speaking[2]

Partes del examen95 min en total

Compréhension orale20 min
Compréhension écrite35 min
Expression écrite30 min
Expression orale10 min
Compréhension oraleAudición · 25 questions
20 min
Formato
Multiple choice, on computer
Preguntas / tareas
25 questions
Tipos de tarea
Multiple-choice questions on recordings.
Puntuación
Score converted to a CEFR level
Materiales permitidos
Not stated on the pages we could read[2]
Compréhension écriteLectura · 25 questions
35 min
Formato
Multiple choice, on computer
Preguntas / tareas
25 questions
Tipos de tarea
Multiple-choice questions on written documents.
Puntuación
Score converted to a CEFR level
Materiales permitidos
Not stated on the pages we could read[2]
Expression écriteEscritura · 3 tasks
30 min
Formato
Written tasks
Preguntas / tareas
3 tasks
Tipos de tarea
Three writing exercises.
Puntuación
Marked out of 20 and converted to a level (2024 scale: 2–5 = A2, 6–9 = B1, 10–20 = B2)
Materiales permitidos
Not stated on the pages we could read[5]
Expression oraleOral · 3 tasks
10 min
Formato
Face to face with an examiner
Preguntas / tareas
3 tasks
Tipos de tarea
An individual interview with three exercises.
Puntuación
Marked out of 20 and converted to a level
Materiales permitidos
—[2]

Puntuación, resultados y repeticiones

1

A level, not pass/fail

The TCF IRN places you from A1 to B2. What counts is whether your level matches what your application needs (A2, B1 or B2).[3]

2

Multiple-choice score bands (2024 registration)

France compétences RS6643: 101–199 = A1, 200–299 = A2, 300–399 = B1, 400–499 = B2. Whether the current version uses the same bands is not confirmed.[5]

3

All four parts together

The four tests are compulsory and cannot be validated separately.[5]

4

Results time depends on the centre

Examples: 15 working days (Université Bordeaux Montaigne), 2–3 weeks (Alliance Française Strasbourg), 4–5 weeks (Alliance Française Toulouse).[1]

5

Valid 2 years for French procedures

For residence cards TCF and TEF certificates are valid 2 years; for nationality the result must be less than 2 years old.[6]

Qué se evalúa realmente

Basado en las descripciones oficiales de tareas y niveles, no en preguntas filtradas.

Listening: 25 questions in 20 minutes

  • All multiple choice — one answer per question.
  • Less than a minute per question: decide and move on.
  • For B1: understand the main points of clear standard speech on familiar matters.
Fuente [2]

Reading: 25 questions in 35 minutes

  • Multiple choice on written documents.
  • About 1.4 minutes per question — keep an eye on the clock.
  • For B2: read articles and reports in which writers take a point of view.
Fuente [2]

Writing: 3 tasks in 30 minutes

  • Three exercises in one block of 30 minutes.
  • Marked out of 20; on the 2024 scale 6–9 = B1 and 10–20 = B2.
  • Plan your time so the last task is not left empty.
Fuente [5]

Speaking: 10 minutes face to face

  • Individual interview with an examiner, three exercises.
  • Short: answer fully, give examples and reasons.
  • For B2: explain a viewpoint giving advantages and disadvantages.
Fuente [2]

Normas que debes conocer

Vías y niveles3
A2 for a first multi-year card

Since 2026-01-01 a first carte de séjour pluriannuelle (multi-year residence card) requires French at A2 if you are under 65. Renewals are not concerned.[4]

B1 for a first resident card

Since 2026-01-01 a first carte de résident (10-year resident card) requires French at B1 if you are under 65.[4]

B2 for French nationality

Since 2026-01-01 naturalisation, nationality by marriage and reintegration require French at B2, spoken and written.[6]

Inscripción1
Register at a TCF centre

Centres (universities, Alliances françaises…) set their own dates, prices and payment rules. Example: Bordeaux Montaigne €150 paid online; Alliance Française Toulouse from €130 + €50 registration fee.[3]

Repeticiones1
Waiting time between attempts

Example Alliance Française Strasbourg: at least 20 days between two TCF IRN attempts.[2]

Exenciones1
Exenciones

Residence cards: 65 and over, health or disability (medical certificate), categories without CIR. Nationality: medical impossibility; and refugees or stateless people over 70 with 15 years of residence.[6]

Conviene saber1
TCF tout public is a different test

TCF tout public: 5 parts (listening 25 min/29 q, language structures 15 min/18 q, reading 45 min/29 q, speaking 12 min, writing 60 min), levels A1–C2. Official pages only say "TCF"; check with your prefecture which version it accepts.[7]

El día del examen

  1. 1
    Be there in person

    The computer-based test runs on the centre’s computers, so you must be present on site.[2]

  2. 2
    Order and length

    About 1 h 35 of testing: listening 20, reading 35, writing 30 minutes, speaking 10 minutes with an examiner.[1]

  3. 3
    Example schedule

    Alliance Française Toulouse holds the TCF IRN on Fridays, 13:45–17:00.[3]

Cambios recientes y previstos

  1. En vigorNew levels for residence and nationality

    Since 2026-01-01: A2 for a first multi-year card, B1 for a first resident card, B2 for nationality.[4]

  2. En vigorTCF IRN registered up to B2

    France compétences registered the TCF IRN (RS6643) on 2024-05-31 for 3 years, certifying A2, B1 and B2. That record still describes an older, shorter format (1 h 15); centres now describe 25 + 25 questions (1 h 35).[5]

Preguntas frecuentes

¿Qué partes tiene TCF?

Compréhension orale (20 min) · Compréhension écrite (35 min) · Expression écrite (30 min) · Expression orale (10 min).

¿Cuánto cuesta TCF?

Set by the centre. Examples: €150 (Université Bordeaux Montaigne); from €130 + €50 registration fee (Alliance Française Toulouse). fuente

¿Cómo se inscribe uno en TCF?

No national TCF dates: each TCF centre sets its own sessions. Example: Alliance Française Toulouse, Fridays 13:45–17:00. fuente

¿Cuánto hay que esperar para TCF?

No waiting time is published; it depends on the centre. Places can be limited — book early. fuente

¿Cuándo se recibe el resultado de TCF?

Depends on the centre: 15 working days (Bordeaux Montaigne), 2–3 weeks (AF Strasbourg), 4–5 weeks (AF Toulouse). fuente

¿Qué pasa si suspendes TCF?

You can retake; example AF Strasbourg: at least 20 days between two attempts. Pay the fee again. fuente

¿Dónde se puede hacer TCF?

Examples of TCF IRN centres checked: Université Bordeaux Montaigne, Alliance Française Strasbourg, Alliance Française Toulouse. Other centres across France. Bordeaux, Strasbourg, Toulouse. fuente

Fuentes oficiales

Comprobado el 2026-09-29. Las normas cambian: la página oficial siempre prevalece.

  1. [1]
  2. [2]
    TCF IRN sur ordinateur Alliance Française de Strasbourg (centre TCF)
  3. [3]
    TCF IRN Alliance Française de Toulouse (centre TCF)
  4. [4]
  5. [5]
  6. [6]
    Nationalité française : comment justifier de son niveau en français ? Service-Public.fr (DILA) · fecha de la página 2026-01-01
  7. [7]
    RS6460 – Test de connaissance du français tout public (TCF TP) France compétences · fecha de la página 2023-12-21
  8. [8]
    CEFR self-assessment grid (EN) European Union (Europass)

Elaborado con ayuda de IA a partir de páginas oficiales (France Éducation international, Le français des affaires, service-public.fr, el Ministerio del Interior francés y otras fuentes oficiales) · aún no revisado por un profesor · la página oficial siempre prevalece